May 30, 2023

President Joe Biden The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20500

Cc. Secretary of the Department of Interior Deb Haaland, Secretary of the Department of Agriculture Tom Vilsack, and Grand Canyon Tribal Coalition

Dear President Biden:

As state legislators who represent a diversity of communities throughout Arizona, we know well the value of the Grand Canyon region and all that it supports in our state. We also understand that there are deep cultural ties and historic connections to the region from at least 12 Tribes, many of whom are part of the Grand Canyon Tribal Coalition. We join these Indigenous leaders and offer our support for the Grand Canyon Tribal Coalition's call to designate the Baaj Nwaavjo I'tah Kukveni Grand Canyon National Monument.

Designating the Baaj Nwaavjo I'tah Kukveni Grand Canyon National Monument would protect approximately 1.1 million acres of federally-managed lands and would honor the Tribes' deep cultural ties to the Grand Canyon region. Protecting these lands would ensure that new toxic uranium mining is prohibited by making permanent the withdrawal of these lands from mining, helping to protect the region's waters.

In addition to the rich cultural ties and the history and stories of Tribal communities, these lands host abundant biological diversity, providing essential habitat for a multitude of plants and animals, including rare and endangered species such as the California condor. These lands also provide important recreational opportunities, including wildlife viewing, camping, hiking, hunting, and angling, which are essential to the region's economy.

We support the Grand Canyon Tribal Coalition's request that you issue a proclamation to establish the Baaj Nwaavjo I'tah Kukveni Grand Canyon National Monument. This will uplift and honor the Tribes' deep cultural ties to the region and better protect the natural, recreational, and scientific resources of the area.

Thank you for acting to protect the Grand Canyon region!

Sincerely,

Sen Mitzi Epstein Minority Leader LD 12, Chandler, AZ

Sen Juan Mendez Assistant Minority Leader LD 8, Tempe, AZ

Sen Christine Marsh LD 4, Phoenix, AZ

Sen Lela Alston Minority Caucus Chair LD 5, Phoenix, AZ

Sen Theresa Hatathlie LD 6, Coal Mine Mesa, AZ

Sen Catherine Miranda LD 11, Phoenix, AZ

Sen Priya Sundareshan LD 18, Tucson, AZ

Sen Rosanna Gabaldón LD 21, Sahuarita, AZ

Sen Eva Diaz LD 22, Tolleson, AZ

Sen Brian Fernandez LD 23, Yuma, AZ

Sen Anna Hernandez LD 24, Phoenix, AZ

Sen Flavio Bravo LD 26, Phoenix, AZ

Sen Sally Ann Gonzales LD 20, Tucson, AZ Rep Andrés Cano Minority Leader LD 20, Tucson, AZ

Rep Lupe Contreras Assistant Minority Leader LD 22, Cashion, AZ

Rep Melody Hernandez Minority Whip LD 8, Tempe, AZ

Rep Marcelino Quiñones Minority Whip LD 11, Phoenix, AZ

Rep Lorena Austin LD 9, Mesa, AZ

Rep Patty Contreras LD 12, Ahwatukee, AZ

Rep Laura Terech LD 4, Scottsdale, AZ

Rep Athena Salman LD 8, Tempe, AZ

Rep Stacey Travers LD 12, Phoenix, AZ

Rep Jennifer Pawlik LD 13, Chandler, AZ

Rep Analise Ortiz LD 24, Phoenix, AZ

Rep Jennifer Longdon LD 5, Phoenix, AZ

Rep Nancy Gutierrez LD 18, Tucson, AZ Rep Mariana Sandoval LD 23, Goodyear, AZ

Rep Judy Schwiebert LD 2, Glendale, AZ

Rep Cesar Aguilar LD 26, Phoenix, AZ

Rep Oscar De Los Santos LD 11, Phoenix, AZ

Rep Myron Tsosie LD 6, Chinle, AZ

Rep Leezah Sun LD 22, Phoenix, AZ

Rep Chris Mathis LD 18, Tucson, AZ

Rep Consuelo Hernandez LD 21, Tucson, AZ

Rep Amish Shah LD 5, Phoenix, AZ

Rep Keith Seaman LD 16, Casa Grande, AZ

Rep Stephanie Stahl-Hamilton LD 21, Tucson, AZ